Storm

If I could choose a superpower, it would be the ability to always be able to avoid storms. This prompt couldn’t have come at a more perfect time because I actually managed to completely avoid a huge storm today; I was so desperate to do laundry that I checked my weather app and decided to deny the fact that I saw the lightning symbol and forged ahead to my former dorm to sneak in and continue to take advantage of their free laundry machines (God bless my school for that). As I was walking, I felt a few rain drops, but not much more, so I kept on walking, thinking that perhaps the weather app was wrong yet again and that there would be no storm after all. A few minutes pass, I walk down to the laundry room, and then suddenly… BOOM. The first crash of thunder shakes the dorm building, and I can hear the attack of vicious raindrops against the thick brick walls.

And though I wish this were something I could actually claim as a superpower, I can’t say that I have always avoided rainstorms with such precision and skill. Back when I still lived in my hometown, I would take a bus to work. Two things: my town is always rainy, and the buses in my town are always late. I definitely should have accounted for those things when I stood outside in the steady rain ten minutes before work started one day, but being me, I did not. As a result, I found out several facts: the buses in my hometown have no issues being up to half an hour late, and that raindrops can physically hurt. Honestly, if I had been a passerby looking at me standing on the sidewalk, that would have been a chuckle-worthy sight: there I was, an already angsty teenager, pacing up and down in the pouring rain, holding an altogether completely ineffective umbrella the size of a pasta pot, cowering from the unexpected pain I was feeling. But here’s the real icing on the cake: when I finally got to work, my boss looked at me, utterly confused, and asked me why I hadn’t stayed home. Apparently, none of my students had showed up for my class.

So forget flying, time travel, and healing powers. It might not be useful quite as often, but the superpower of never being stuck in a rainstorm would be pretty darn nice.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/storm/

Leave a Reply

