The Sincerest Form of Flattery

Publish a post in the style of a favorite author/blogger or photographer.

Sorry in advance, guys. I’m disobeying the prompt. I’m a rebel.

I can honestly say that I am terrified to ever try to imitate my favorite writer. Sure, I may have a few inspired quotes in a story or two that I can thank this person for, but never in a million years will you see me try and match the genius of Joss Whedon.

Ok, ok, so he’s not really an author per se, but that man can write the shit out of a script, and no one can convince me otherwise. The worlds that he’s created with his unique style of dialogue have inspired my screenwriting as well as every other kind of writing. Everything with the dialogue he creates for his characters has to do with timing, and his timing is always perfect. Whether he’s writing for laughs or for tears, he has my attention, and though I can only speak for myself, I hear he has some other fans out there (Never heard of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Firefly, or Avengers? Get out from that rock you live under.).

All of that being said, there’s a lot of pressure asking me to write in the style of Joss Whedon! If I were given a few months or even a year to figure everything out, I feel like I’d be ready for this post, but for now, I think I’ll stick with figuring out what the hell my own style of writing is.

** On a side note, I have the deepest and utter respect for writers who do imitate Whedon, however successful they are at it. For you fellow Firefly fans out there, there’s a new Firefly Online game coming out soon and all the voice actors would talk about is how accurately the writers portrayed the unique style of dialogue found in the original Firefly series. Safe to say I am so gorram excited for this game I’m about peeing myself.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/the-sincerest-form-of-flattery/

One thought on “The Sincerest Form of Flattery

Leave a Reply

