Upturned Noses

Even the most laid back and egalitarian among us can be insufferable snobs when it comes to coffee, music, cars, beer, or any other pet obsession where things have to be just so. What are you snobbish about?

I’d like to think of myself as a laid back and an egalitarian, but I know my family would and can very vehemently disagree with that. I am most definitely a snob when it comes to four things: coffee, music, beer, and film. 

Alright, so when it comes to any food nowadays, I’m not too picky, and I will indeed drink any form of caffeine that is given to me, but I do have preferences. Over the years, I’ve developed my dad’s disdain for Starbuck’s regular coffee, so I only get Americanos. This stopped making sense after I discovered I’m not actually a huge fan of espresso, but I still love me some Americano goodness. I’m also having this major internal struggle right now with my morning cup o’ joe, because my room has a Keurig machine and a french press but when I have five minutes to get ready for class, do you really think I’m going to go for the french press? I’m also very lazy and those things are a pain to clean.

When it comes to music, I’ve also become less of a snob, but I’m sure my brother would disagree. I listen to mainly alternative and folk music (*whips out ray bans and loudly denies being a hipster*), and in high school I had a serious thing against rap. It actually got so bad that my brother and I had a heated shouting match at the dinner table that ended in a horribly botched Facebook poll, asking friends and family which type of music is better. We concluded that the results would never be conclusive.

So when it comes to Blue Moons… hahaha never mind, my parents read this blog.

Film is just a given for me. If I wasn’t some sort of a film snob, what sort of filmmaker would I be in the future? The last thing I would want in my adult life would be to write half-assed chick flicks and feel-good Nicholas Sparks plots. I want to write the kinds of dramas and thrillers that make people see things differently when they walk out of the theaters (or away from their computers). So, um, those tears you saw when I was watching that Christmas special were, um, tears of pain. It had nothing to do with the movie itself, I promise you.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/upturned-noses/

Leave a Reply

