Welcome, Stranger

Think about the town where you currently live: its local customs, traditions, and hangouts, its slang. What would be the strangest thing about this place for a first-time visitor?

For the sake of my privacy since I don’t believe in advertising all of my personal information on the web, I’m going to rename my hometown Hippyville. Hell, I’ve probably called it that from time to time anyway. 

I cannot tell you how many times I’ve seen #thatssohippyville on twitter or just plain old #hippyville. Essentially, my town is a conglomerate of academics, hippies, and yuppies. There are more than a few colleges in the area, so many of my friends in high school were the sons and daughters of professors. I can’t tell you how the hippies and yuppies got there, but they’re everywhere. You might have Whole Foods and the local farmer’s market in the library parking lot, but we have Wegmans and then another co-op organic food market and a huge area set aside for the local farmer’s market by the lake. Also, if you don’t know what Wegmans is, go to one. Right now. I don’t care if you’re not on the East Coast, there are no excuses.

Anyway, to actually answer the original question, one thing that my town has that’s truly unique is the Hippyville Festival (obviously actually named after the actual town name). It’s simply a wonderful little weekend experience with local food stands and crafts of all kinds, filling the streets. There are even a few mini festivals during the colder months like the Chili Fest and Apple Fest… Speaking of which, the Apple Fest just ended this weekend.

Sometimes I miss home. Then I remember I’m in the best city on planet Earth and then I miss it a little less. Don’t worry, Mom and Dad, I still miss you guys. And you, lil bro, not that you’ll read this anyway. xoxo Siena, your favorite daughter/sister.

Oh God, I almost used a photo from the actual festival before I realized that I knew at least one person in each photo. #hippyvilleproblems

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/welcome-stranger/

One thought on “Welcome, Stranger

Leave a Reply

