Overload Alert

“Everybody gets so much information all day long that they lose their common sense.” — Gertrude Stein
Do you agree?

Yes. Wholeheartedly.

I might have mentioned before that I’m currently a college student, so at the moment really my only priority in life is to stuff as much information into my brain as humanly possible since that would make it the most worthwhile. It’s so expensive that I’m essentially selling my soul for this privilege, but apparently these next few years will help me learn how to be an adult too.

…just kidding. 

Last night I may or may not have spent a good hour laughing my ass off with my roommates over videos of people doing stupid things. Don’t get me wrong; the videos really are tear-jerkers. When I was a wee bitty high schooler though, I totally had this image of me having serious discussions about classwork with my peers and coming up with million-dollar ideas every other day. You know, like in the movies.

Turns out, most humans do not function like this. Most humans need breaks. While I wish I could spend every minute of my time being productive and being… wait, no I don’t. Give me break times or give me brain death, that’s what I always say.

Once in a while throughout my college years, there have been times where the work just got rough. There would just be that one week when all of the professors came together and said “Hey let’s screw with our students and give them hours of homework all at the same time.” When this happened, I would come back to my room from the library and just stare. At my phone, at the wall, at a page in a book. If someone wanted to engage me in a conversation, I would attempt but miserably fail to interact like a normal human being. East Asian History and Theology didn’t have time for common sense, so they took it from me like the breath from my lungs.

Don’t worry, I always recover. That’s why I’m consistently only slightly weird and only occasionally lacking in the common sense department.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/overload-alert/

2 thoughts on “Overload Alert

Leave a Reply

