Moved to Tears

Do movies, songs, or other forms of artistic expression easily make you cry? Tell us about a recent tear-jerking experience!

Oh man, am I a cry-baby when it comes to the arts. I used to play it tough, but that was before I finally admitted to myself that I might someday become like my mother. The end of that rebellious phase led to the new and improved Sobbing Siena.

I don’t cry at everything. When a friend of mine recommended that I read The Fault in Our Stars, she told me that if I wasn’t sobbing by the end, I had no soul. Guess I have no soul. Don’t get me wrong; I absolutely loved the book and that ending filled me with all the emotions a good book should invoke, but it just didn’t spark any tears. 

What I do cry at, however, are any and all inspirational videos, especially those blockbusters about sports. I get scared at the movie theaters when a trailer for another feel-good sports flick comes on, because by the end of that perfectly pitched track, I’m holding back those tears harder than my bag of Skittles. I don’t what it is, but those tears just well up and stay there. Then I save them for the part of the actual movie where everyone else is crying so I can keep up that illusion that I have a soul.

And while I do love The Fault in Our Stars, it didn’t change my life or anything. I’ve read many a tale where I become way more emotionally invested in the characters. Namely, anything by Joss Whedon. Oh, I’ve never mentioned my obsession with the works of Joss Whedon before? You must be new to this blog. Basically, I watched Serenity for the 239487234th time last night and bawled my eyes out. Twice. Yeah, that bad. Honestly, I don’t think I will ever be as whipped about a guy than I will be for the Firefly and Serenity duo. 

There’s definitely a song out there that brings me to those tears, but I can’t remember what it is at the moment. What I can remember is all of those times I listened to Korean folk songs with my mother and almost coming to tears because of those indescribable emotions that I felt vicariously through her as she listened to the sounds of her childhood, when she was my age. I digress. Seriously, though, listen to the New York Philharmonic Orchestra’s performance of “Arirang” in North Korea. That is some powerful shit.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/moved-to-tears-2/

One thought on “Moved to Tears

Leave a Reply

