Digging Up Your Digs

500 years from now, an archaeologist accidentally stumbles on the ruins of your home, long buried underground. What will she learn about early-21st-century humans by going through (what remains of) your stuff?

Not much. Just kidding; unfortunately though, I feel like most of the things in my house are perishable and won’t make it 500 years. They’ll learn a lot if they come around 400 years earlier, but somehow I feel like all the character in my house is made of paper and food products.

500 years from now, an archaeologist will discover this: my family really likes light. Not metaphorical or spiritual light (though we are religious), but physical light. It’s in every corner of every room. My excuse for this is always that my dad’s an architect, and architects are used to needing a lot of light for their work, but I’ve found since I’ve gone to college that it’s not just an architect thing. There are seven light fixtures in my dorm room at the moment, and that doesn’t include the Christmas lights draped everywhere. 

500 years from now, all of the books I was obsessed with will be worm food (or worm poop), all of my childhood scribbling would be dust… wait, this is making me super sad. If I somehow become a millionaire someday, maybe I’ll just take my whole house and just preserve it, so in 500 years it won’t be ruins. Because that’s how important my elementary school artwork is.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/digging-up-your-digs/

Leave a Reply

