You, Robot

Congrats — you’ve been handed a robot whose sole job is to relieve you of one chore, job, or responsibility you particularly hate. What is it?

I don’t actually mind chores. As a rule, I’m pretty darn lazy so when someone asks me to do a chore I won’t eagerly jump on it, but they’re not that bad. I’ve found I made it a habit to always sing or hum while I wash dishes. It’s gotten to a point where it feels a little wrong doing the dishes in silence or even with my phone playing music, and I have no idea why.

One chore that I cannot abide, however, is taking out the garbage. Or anything to do with garbage. It’s not because of the garbage itself, either. It’s because…

The basement. 

My house is old, but it has character. There’s the history as the town hall, and a farm house before that more than a hundred years ago, the paint job that needed redoing twenty years ago, and on and on. And through it all, through thick and thin, there’s been the basement. The never-changing, never-renovated basement, full of spiders and lead and asbestos. Yummy. Now, I’m not usually a girly-girl, but every single time I come out of that basement, I check my hair for spiders. 

If I could get a robot to deal with those spiders down there and take care of the garbage, that would simply be the best thing ever.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/you-robot/

Leave a Reply

