Uncanned Laughter

A misused word, a misremembered song lyric, a cream pie that just happened to be there: tell us about a time you (or someone else) said or did something unintentionally funny.

I’ve been hanging around six- to ten-year-olds for the past week, so there are definitely plenty of misused words and completely abused song lyrics going around. The latest and favorite is “Let it Poop,” the genius remix of Disney’s “Let it Go.” There are many more mentions of poop throughout the song, along with a little subplot about green beans. Not sure what went wrong there.

Cutest of all, though, was trying to teach my cousin’s one-year-old how to say my name. It’s a tough one for babies; when my brother was little he would shorten “Siena” to “Seeena.” This little guy, though, was having none of that first syllable. For a while, when people would point at me and say “Who’s that?” he would say “Unk.” No no, I’m not an uncle. I’m not even an aunt. I’m a cousin once removed. Maybe it was just an expression of frustration. Anyway, he loves the word “nana” (banana), so since my name pretty much rhymes with banana, I tried using that approach.

Now my name is Na.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/uncanned-laughter/

Leave a Reply

