Off the Shelf

Take a look at your bookcase. If you had enough free time, which book would be the first one you’d like to reread? Why?

Harry Potter (the whole shibang). Boring, I know, but there are three good reasons why:

1. I’m thousands of miles away from my bookcase, so I don’t actually know exactly which books I can choose from.

2. I recently switched rooms with my brother. This means there are still many books in my room that I have never read and never want to read. Sorry bro; people don’t grow out of Harry Potter (at least I keep telling myself that), but they do get a little too old for Percy Jackson.

3. I have a terrible memory, so when it comes to childhood memories, I can only think of a couple off the top of my head. In first grade, there were three things: Pouncer, Calvin and Hobbes, and Harry Potter. If you haven’t read my previous posts, Pouncer is my stuffed leopard that I still hold onto, I had an unhealthy obsession with Calvin and Hobbes that legitimately worried my parents, and my adventure with Harry Potter began. It’s corny and basically everyone and their dog has said it at one point, but I learned so many things from Harry Potter. I’m not to the point where I’m tattooing the deathly hallows symbol to my right buttcheek, but I’d call myself a fan. One thing I haven’t done in so long, though, is reread some of those books. Forgive me, Potterheads. I’ve turned to the dark side, a.k.a. A Song of Ice and Fire (Game of Thrones), a.k.a. best dark side ever. So basically I have a book and a half of that series to read before even considering rereading Harry Potter, but it’s on the back of my mind.

Then again, each of these GoT books have taken me a lifetime and a half. Or maybe I’ll finally read the German translation of The Sorcerer’s Stone I have lying around. Ugh, this is why I generally just don’t reread books.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/off-the-shelf/

image

Leave a Reply

