New Wrinkles

You wake up one day and realize you’re ten years older than you were the previous night. Beyond the initial shock, how does this development change your life plans?

First thought: “I CAN LEGALLY DRINK. HALLELUJAH.”

…just kidding.

I would definitely be a little freaked if I woke up in my late twenties. I feel like I’m at the prime of my life now; why would I want to skip a significant portion of that? I’m missing out on three years of college without skipping over those first years of trying to find a job and a place to live. Not cool (but maybe I’d still be looking for those things in my late twenties anyway). 

I feel like one big change that would occur would be how fast I would need to figure things out. If I truly wanted, I would start trying to make a living now. Sure it would be about 1000x harder without a college degree, but eventually I’ll find something to keep me on my feet until (or if) my writing gets me somewhere. While I enjoy college immensely, I do not want anything to do with grad school. I want to get right to work, and start building my way up to where I ultimately want to be — writing (or at least working) for television. All I’ve ever wanted to do was to create stories, so if I can at least be a part of that, I’d be happy. Hell, I’ll start out as a gaffer or getting the director coffee if that’s what it takes.

The worst part of missing out on ten years of my life, though, would be the fact that those are ten fewer years I have to just experience life. As a writer, this is tragic. One of my favorite movie quotes comes from the film Stuck in Love, where the father (played by Greg Kinnear) says to his son, “Rusty, a writer is the sum of his experiences. Go get some.” Now, writers usually can’t be compared in a very tangible way since there is no right or wrong in a work of fiction, and even grammar rules can be bent slightly to serve a writer’s style (emphasis on slightly). There is, however, a certain amount of respect given to authors who truly know what they’re talking about because of the things they’ve lived through. What kind of respect could I possibly demand as a 28-year-old with 18 years of experience?

Though I suppose all of this would mean that I have one life experience that no other writer ever went through. And at least it wouldn’t be like that movie 13 Going on 30. I’m picturing my 13-year-old self in a 30-year-old’s life and it is not at all pretty. *shudders*

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/new-wrinkles/

Leave a Reply

