Think Again

Tell us about a time you made a false assumption about a person or a place — how did they prove you wrong?

When I first started really thinking about what college would be like before I actually went, I had a lot of assumptions in my mind. Nearly all of them turned out to be wrong.

There’s the classic “I thought I would have so much free time to do so many productive things!” Going into college, I always had this idea that I would spend so much more time now reading books and finally getting around to attempting to complete a novel. All of a sudden, I was struggling to read the chapters of textbooks for my classes, and I was writing about as much fiction as any non-writer would. I thought my social life had changed forever when I entered high school, but college turned out to be a whole other dimension. I was spending hours of my days, weekday or weekend, with friends, just goofing off or attempting to focus on homework in study rooms in the library. Complete novel my ass; if I’m still writing this blog and even my other one during the school year it’ll be nothing short of a miracle. 

Another classic: “I thought college had way less drama than in high school.” Sadly, this is so, so wrong. If you’ve been in college, you know what I mean.

Lastly, there’s that assumption that one can simply take notes in a notebook without suffering from some degree of pain from your fingers, hand, or wrist. I had an East Asian History class that was the best and worst course I have taken so far. I won’t even go into the grading process or the tests, but the amount of information dumped into my brain was awesome, albeit a little alarming. What was also alarming was the cramping in my wrist after class. During high school tests, proctors would always allow breaks so people could “stretch out and loosen those cramped hands,” but I never understood that because my hand was always fine. East Asian History changed that. Thank God I found out later from the seniors/history majors that that was the single most difficult class that my college offers. 

 http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/think-again/

One thought on “Think Again

Leave a Reply

