Writer’s Block Party

When was the last time you experienced writer’s block? What do you think brought it about — and how did you dig your way out of it?

Writer’s block, for me at least, is like being a surgeon who just broke a finger. The imagination that colors every part of my life is broken and I stop thinking straight. It sounds tragic, I know, but I’ve been writing stories since I was in Kindergarten and I’ve been creating stories before that. Not having that ability to create stories makes me feel a little broken.

That being said, July was a depressing month. I had started a short story blog in May and had written a handful of stories I was pretty proud of, but when June hit, that all disappeared. I was writing fairly long stories every single week after a full college year of only writing class essays, and so the only explanation I can come up with for my month-long hiatus is that I ran out of creative juice. Each story was an easy enough sprint, but it felt like I had run for miles.

How did I get over it? I took a break. Not from writing, obviously (that’s part of the reason I started this blog), but from making stories. It was weird for sure, but here I am in August and I’m right back to it. I’ve decided to tone my other blog down a bit and only write a short story every month. If I decide later on that I can handle it, I’ll switch to every two weeks or something like that, but for now, it’s time for me to stretch those creative muscles and get back to work.

I’ll have the story posted right here this Friday. Yeah. Be excited.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/writers-block-party/

Leave a Reply

