Unlikely Pairing

Bacon and chocolate, caramel and cheddar… Is there an unorthodox food pairing you really enjoy? Share with us the weirdest combo you’re willing to admit that you like — and how you discovered it.

As a kid, I was always a picky eater. It was well known in the family that when it came time to order at the restaurant, I would go for the standard spaghetti or fried rice while my brother would go for the most expensive and most exotic item. The one time I strayed from my pattern early on was when I ordered from the specials menu at a Korean restaurant. Turns out, chicken bokum is an extremely spicy dish (which my Korean mother failed to mention) and I drank about half my weight in water. 

Then came college. Maybe it was the foodie friends, or maybe it was the fact that my everyday meal was made by a company that’s famous for giving students food poisoning and for the fact that they also make prison food. Either way, when I came back, my parents were shocked the first time we went out to a restaurant. Siena, are you sure you want that? It has seafood!

I ate chicken feet last month at dim sum, guys. I got this. 

Despite this, though, I’m still a fairly orthodox eater. The oddest thing I could think of that I actually ate and liked is eggs and maple syrup. A sad combination. I had to interrogate my brother a little bit to find out what I had eaten that was strange (he has a much better memory than I do). Turns out, it’s not normal to like chopped, sauteed spinach on garlic bread. Who knew? It’s something my mother claims she invented, and I always gobble it up while my brother sits there, baffled by it and by me. Since I’ve never seen anyone else besides my family eat this apparently weird combination, I don’t actually know if it’s unorthodox. If it’s not, fine by me. I may have gotten past my fear of seafood, but bacon and chocolate will be another giant leap for me.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/unlikely-pairing/

2 thoughts on “Unlikely Pairing

Leave a Reply

