The Eighth Sin

Remember the seven cardinal sins? You’re given the serious task of adding a new one to the list — another trait or behavior you find particularly unacceptable, for whatever reason. What’s sin #8 for you? Why?

The first thought that popped into my head after reading this was “people who talk at the theater.” Not at all because I believe it (otherwise my childhood self just eternally screwed me over), but because it’s a hilarious quote from my all-time favorite TV show, Firefly. The main character is accidentally married off to a young woman from a foreign planet, and the preacher on board gives him some advice. Couldn’t find the quote by itself, but it is in the video below at 2:58. 

Coming up with an eighth cardinal sin would be kinda tough, though. I feel like there’s a reason the Christian faith stopped at seven; there’s too much overlap if you try and pick anything else.

Now, despite this overlap, the eighth deadly sin, in my mind, is abuse. I had originally thought it would overlap with wrath too much, but wrath is usually considered to be self-destructive rather than just plain old destructive. Most of the seven sins are very much related to the individual, while simply implying the negative impact on others. Turns out, abuse has more overlap with lust than with wrath, since it often stems from a lust for power or sex. But enough with the overlap; for the first half of my life I never even knew gluttony and greed were two separate sins.

In today’s society, we see the seven sins all the time. Businessmen lust for power. Wealthier populations tend to waste a lot of food (gluttony). Our entire materialistic society can be considered greedy. Most of us are also pretty lazy nowadays (sloth). I can go on, but I’ll just make myself feel bad about all of my life decisions. Point is, while you were reading that, you were probably realizing that we as a society don’t often think about those kinds of things. They’re pretty much normal to us, and while we might occasionally realize that they’re sins and feel bad about it, there’s not much we can do to change those things without leaving our lives behind and becoming a monk or a nun. What society does still frown upon, however, is abuse of any kind. We’ve even gone so far as to condemn corporal punishment, labeling that as abuse as well (something I don’t agree with, but that’s a discussion for another time). The law makes it hell on earth for abusive people, and thank goodness for that. We may be a population of gluttons and directionless people, but I’m ok with it as long as we care for one another and put those who don’t behind bars.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/the-eighth-sin/

8 thoughts on “The Eighth Sin

Leave a Reply

