Back to Life

After an especially long and exhausting drive or flight, a grueling week at work, or a mind-numbing exam period — what’s the one thing you do to feel human again?

Alright, I admit it — I’m a stress eater. There’s nothing like a bar of chocolate (or three) to make a day that’s going awry seem a whole lot better.

I can’t say much about what I do after long drives or flights because unlike some people, I love road trips and flights. I’m a daydreamer, and staring out the window and just thinking is when my imagination works best, and I find it relaxing rather than exhausting. Not sure what I would say if I had ever been the driver on a long drive, but that’s been my experience so far.

Mind-numbing exam periods, though… there’s something I’m familiar with. My junior year of high school, there was a week when I emptied my brain of everything in life except for what I read in my AP U.S. History review book. It hadn’t exactly been my favorite class that year, so I had quite a lot of catching up to do. In other words, I read a condensed version of the course cover-to-cover in about a week. Don’t ask me about my AP score, but I did get a 94 on the Regents exam, so at least New York State still thinks I’m smart. 

After that test, though, all I wanted to do was forget everything about U.S. history. To feel human again, I guess. Eating to feel human again makes sense, since it’s something we hopefully all do. It doesn’t have to be chocolate, and it doesn’t have to be a lot of food. If I feel like eating a salad instead, that’s my comfort food of the day. It’s usually candy, though. 

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/back-to-life/

3 thoughts on “Back to Life

Leave a Reply

