Musical Marker

We all have songs that remind us of specific periods and events in our lives. Twenty years from now, which song will remind you of the summer of 2014?

Summer 2014 has been uneventful, and so far I really can’t think of a song at all. This may sound depressing, but… well, yeah it’s kind of depressing. Writing, reading, and Netflixing all day every day might sound great, but it’s only great when you’re supposed to be studying in college (pretend you didn’t see that, mom and dad). Toronto, however, was nice. For all you foodies out there, you must go to Old Town Toronto and EAT EVERYTHING. I especially recommend the restaurant Origin. A bit pricey, but well worth it because the food is so unique and freaking delicious.

One song I will really remember in twenty years, though, is the song I listened to while driving over the Tappan Zee Bridge on my way to my first day at college last fall. It was “The Call” by Regina Spektor. Every lyric in this song was so perfect for the occasion. This summer has been that “you’ll come back when they call you” part of the song, “they” being my parents. If you haven’t listened to it before, I strongly recommending clicking here. Or read the lyrics if you’re lazy like me: 

It started out as a feeling
Which then grew into a hope
Which then turned into a quiet thought
Which then turned into a quiet word
And then that word grew louder and louder
'Til it was a battle cry
I'll come back when you call me
No need to say goodbye

Just because everything's changing
Doesn't mean it's never been this way before
All you can do is try to know who your friends are
As you head off to the war
Pick a star on the dark horizon and follow the light
You'll come back when it's over
No need to say goodbye
You'll come back when it's over
No need to say goodbye

Now we're back to the beginning
It's just a feeling and no one knows yet
But just because they can't feel it too
Doesn't mean that you have to forget
Let your memories grow stronger and stronger
'Til they're before your eyes
You'll come back when they call you
No need to say goodbye
You'll come back when they call you
No need to say goodbye

I had originally planned on staying in NYC for the summer, depending on whether or not I could find myself an internship. Looking back on it, there are upsides and downsides to coming back home. Mostly, it’s weird, which is guess could be and upside or a downside. Being home again after a year in college is supposed to feel normal, but it’s anything but. “Just because everything’s changing doesn’t mean it’s never been this way before.” On point, Regina. Eerily on point.

Hmm, now that I think about it, the song “When Will My Life Begin” from Tangled can be the song for my summer 2014. Well, more like “When Will My Life (re)Begin (at college).” Not that I’m counting down the days until I get back or anything…

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/musical-marker/

Leave a Reply

